Personal info

my picture
  • First Name : Frédéric
  • Last Name : Furnelle
  • Nationality : Belgian
  • Freelance : Available
  • Email : info@inguz.be
  • Phone : +33 6 20 06 74 86
  • Whatsapp : +32 498 57 57 00
  • languages : French, Dutch, English. And a little Spanish, German and Russian.

30

years of experience

215

DAYS TREKKING WITH A CAMERA OR SOUND

44

COUNTRIES VISITED

7

awards won


What i Do

80%
Communicating
90%
5.1 Sound MIX
95%
Sound Edit
60%
Directing

What i Use

90%
Brain
99%
Pro Tools
80%
Nuendo
65%
Premiere

Experience

  • 1993 - Present
    Independent Sound Engineer

    Worked on soundtracks for several production companies; editing and mixing animation shorts, documentaries, experimental films and video installations. I specialise in recreating natural sounds from scratch with a special attention to detail; though my range also includes experimental work. Many of those movies have been selected and some awarded at major film festivals like Berlinale, Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica of Venise, Anima Brussels, etc...

  • 2000 - Present
    Documentary Filmmaker

    "A Single Day", 2020, Director, camera and sound. Second self produced film-documentary. "Walking for Genna", 2018. First feature documentary about a trekking-pilgrimage in Ethiopia. This movie has been shown in festivals around the world and won many prizes. Previously directed 3 travel audio-visual logs with photographic-slides and sound.

  • 1991 - 2019
    Commercial Studios

    Freelance sound engineer for advertising studios. Voice over recording, editing, sound design, mixing. Freelance on feature movies for ADR, Foley, dialogue editing, sound design, etc... Chief of maintenance. Studios included La Vita e Media, A Sound, Studio 43.

  • Over the years
    Other important Bits...

    Audio workshop teacher at SAE, Music project Everything is Slow!, several music album recordings, photography courses for homeless people, exhibition of travel photography, contemporary art sound installations, member of a jury at a film festival, world traveller...

Education

  • 1988 – 1989
    College for Recording Arts San Francisco, USA

    1 year intensive, immersive studies of sound engineer. Finished with a Certificate of Excellence.

  • 2005 - 2013
    Continuing Education

    Loudness in Broadcasting, Sound Design for Pros, Video editing and Premiere, WEBDOC, Filming techniques.

Infos personnelles

my picture
  • Prénom : Frédéric
  • Nom : Furnelle
  • Nationalité : Belge
  • Indépendant : Disponible
  • Email : info@inguz.be
  • Téléphone : +33 6 20 06 74 86
  • Whatsapp : +32 498 57 57 00
  • Langues : Français, néerlandais, anglais. Et un peu d'espagnol, allemand et russe.

30

ANS D'EXPÉRIENCE

215

JOURS DE TREKKING AVEC UNE CAMÉRA OU MATÉRIEL SON

44

PAYS VISITÉS

7

PRIX REMPORTÉS


Ce Que Je Fais

80%
Communication
90%
Mixage 5.1
95%
Montage son
60%
Réalisation

Ce Que J’utilise

90%
Humour
99%
Pro Tools
80%
Nuendo
65%
Premiere

Expérience

  • 1993 - Présent
    Ingénieur Du Son indépendant

    J'ai réalisé des bandes-son pour plusieurs sociétés de production belges; montage son et mixage de courts métrages d'animation, de documentaires, de films expérimentaux et d’installations vidéo. Je me suis spécialisé dans la création de bandes-sonnaturelles et réalistes avec une attention particulière aux détails. Ma palette de projets comprend également des travaux expérimentaux. Beaucoup de ces films ont été sélectionnés et certains ont été primés lors de grands festivals de cinéma comme la Berlinale, la Mostra Internazionale d'Arte Cinematografica de Venise, Anima Brussels, etc....

  • 2000 - Présent
    Documentariste

    "Un Seul Jour", 2020, réalisateur, caméra et son. Deuxième film-documentaire autoproduit. "Marcher pour Genna", 2018. Premier long métrage documentaire sur un trekking-pèlerinage en Éthiopie. Ce film a été présenté dans des festivals du monde entier et a remporté de nombreux prix. Avant 2010, réalisation de 3 carnets de voyage audio-visuels avec diapositives photographiques et son.

  • 1991 - 2019
    Travaux commerciaux en studio

    Ingénieur du son indépendant pour des studios de publicité. Enregistrement de voix-off, montage, conception sonore, mixage. Indépendant sur des longs métrages pour post-synchro voix, bruitages, montage de dialogues, sound-design, etc... Chef de la maintenance. Principaux studios : La Vita e Media, A Sound, Studio 43.

  • En parallèle
    Autres activités importantes...

    Professeur d’atelier son à la SAE, projet musical Everything is Slow !, plusieurs enregistrements d'albums musicaux, cours de photographie pour les sans-abris, exposition de photographies de voyage, installations sonores d'art contemporain, membre de jury lors de festivals de cinéma, voyageur du monde...

Éducation

  • 1988 – 1989
    College for Recording Arts San Francisco, USA

    1 an d'études intensives et immersives d'ingénieur du son. Certificat d'excellence.

  • 2005 - 2013
    Formation continue

    Loudness (LUFS) en Broadcast, conception sonore (sound design) professionnel, montage vidéo sur Premiere, WEBDOC, techniques de prise de vue cinéma.